Support Veteran Journalism →

Green Berets

Also known as Green Berets, because of their distinctive headwear, Special Forces soldiers operate in 12-man teams, known as the Special Forces Operational Detachment Alpha (SFODA). ODAs most often work with a partner force, which can either be a guerilla group or a government. Each ODA focuses on a different insertion method (Military Freefall, Combat Diver, Mobility, and Mountain). Green Berets are cultural experts in the assigned geographical region and speak local languages, which is key when working with a partner force.

There are five active-duty (1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 10th) and two National Guard (19th and 20th) Special Forces Groups that specialize in different geographical areas.

Featured Article

US Army Special Forces “Green Berets” | The Complete Guide

From the history of the iconic Green Beret to weapons and famous engagements, this is the complete Special Forces guide as written by former SOCOM members.

Read More