Azerbaijani Protestors During the Lachin Blockade. Photo by USC Dornsife Global Policy Institute

The Russian Invasion of Ukraine is the largest conventional war since the Iran-Iraq War and the biggest conducted on the European continent since World War Two. Already the most condemned aggression since the foundation of the United Nations, Russia has become the most sanctioned nation on Earth in place of its imperial ambitions.

The United Nations has conducted numerous resolutions during the year-long, with growing votes recognizing the Russian Federation as an increasingly aggressive and rogue state. The most recent UN General Assembly vote, which condemns Russian aggression in Ukraine and sets a partnership with the Council of Europe and UN on War crimes, was overwhelmingly against Russia’s favor with 122 nations in turn, only five against, and 18 abstentions.

What made the vote the most shocking is that some of Russia’s “closest” partners voted against Moscow, such as China, India, Brazil, and even Armenia—a nation whose survival had been dependent on the Kremlin until three years ago. Nonetheless, Azerbaijan, which has claimed to fight against Russia and supports Ukraine, has never shown up to vote in any resolution that involves Russia, which has been a significant mystery as Baku considers the status of Russian Peacekeepers and presence in the Caucasus as an “obstacle.”

What Does the Vote Mean and Entail?

In the documents, the United Nations vote stated: “Recognizing also that the unprecedented challenges now facing Europe following the aggression by the Russian Federation against Ukraine, and against Georgia before that, and the cessation of the membership of the Russian Federation in the Council of Europe.”

Vladimir Putin, the President and longtime autocrat of Russia, has been indicted by the International Criminal Court for the deportations of tens of thousands of Ukrainian children—a violation of the Articles of the Convention of Genocide by forcefully transferring populations. The resolution alludes to respecting territorial sovereignty, prosecuting war criminals, and recognizing and respecting independent nations.

Only five nations, Syria, Belarus, Nicaragua, North Korea, and, non-surprisingly, Russia, voted against this. The four nations outside Russia are dictatorships that heavily depend on Moscow’s diplomatic and military support to retain their kleptocracy.

Why is Armenia Drifting from Russia?

Armenia is a nation that has lived under Russian hegemony since its imperial conquest of the Caucasus in the 1800s. The Young Turks, also known as the Committee of Union and Progress, used the pretext of Armenia being a “Russian allies” as one of the reasons for the genocide.