With all that’s been going on, you probably missed the recent announcement that the Army has released the standards for its Occupational Physical Assessment Test, or OPAT.

The test will be administered to soldiers who wish to move into more physically demanding occupations, such as combat arms. The three categories for scores, based on required fitness levels, are moderate (gold), significant (gray) and heavy (black).

A score in the heavy category is required for those seeking to enter combat arms. That category’s minimum scores required for each event:

  • Standing long jump: 160 centimeters
  • Seated power throw: 450 centimeters
  • Strength deadlift: 160 pounds
  • Interval run: 43 shuttles

Although these raw numbers probably do not mean much to the average person, if we take a closer look, we can see what standards have actually been set.

Read More- Army Times

Image courtesy of US Army