As the Russo-Ukrainian war continues to rage on through its 100th day, things are getting frosty over with RIMPAC. Twenty-six countries headed by the United States will be conducting Exercise RIMPAC 2022 from June 29 to August 4 in what is the world’s biggest naval exercise to date.

It has been reported that the exercise will be composed of some 38 surface ships, four submarines, and 170 aircraft from all QUAD members, namely India, Japan, Australia, and the US, as well as five Southeast Asian nations that all have their scores to settle with China namely: the Philippines, Brunei, Singapore, Thailand, and Indonesia. They will also be joined by Tonga, a country that has been engaging with China. Nine land forces comprising 25,000 personnel will also be part of the drill.

Here is the complete list of all countries participating:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Republic of Korea
  • Republic of the Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • the United Kingdom
  • the United States

First held in 1971, today’s RIMPAC is important as a show of international solidarity as China continues to be aggressive in the region. With islands and areas continually being contested in the South China Sea, increased aggression against Taiwan in its pursuit to “reunify” it with the mainland, and a new security pact with the Solomon Islands, the exercise will primarily be about building stronger relationships and cooperation with allies in the Pacific, as well as around the world.